Department of Psychiatry


The Department of Psychiatry was established in 1988.Initially, the department offered essential psychiatric services to OPD-based treatment and consultation-liaison psychiatric services to the patients referred from other specialty departments.

ECT (Electroconvulsive Therapy) was started for severely psychiatrically ill patients and psychometric assessments using standardized types of equipment. The department extended its facilities to Kolar OPD. Establishment of a separate psychiatric ward was done. Modified Electro Convulsive Therapy services and procurement of a computerized EEG machine to diagnose and treat all Epileptic disorders. Specialty clinics like Child guidance, Geriatric De- addiction services, Community psychiatric services were started.

Clinical Psychologist have started counselling services for the students and actively conducting psychometric assessments. The department has begun the Postgraduate MD Psychiatry course with two seats per year from 2020.

  • To provide comprehensive care and treatment of all the Psychiatric illnesses.
  • To improve patient involvement and participation in the management of their illness through Psychoeducation and therapies
  • To reduce stigma and misconceptions regarding mental illnesses.
  • To train, upgrade the knowledge and expertise of students, paramedics, medical officers and specialists in Psychiatric illness.
  • Capitalize on new learning technologies.
  • Undergraduate Courses
    • Medical: MBBS
  • Postgraduate Courses
    • MD (Psychiatry)
Thrust Areas
  • Community Psychiatry
  • Stress management
  • Counseling & Psychotherapy
  • Mood Disorders
  • Suicides
  • Voltammetry analysis
Awards And Achivements