Department of Anesthesiology


The Department of Anaesthesiology was established in the year 1988 in Sri Devaraj Urs Medical College, Kolar as a part of the R L Jalappa Hospital and Research Centre. Anaesthesiology is a medical specialty concerned with the total perioperative care of patients before, during and immediately after the surgery. Anesthesia department not only caters anaesthetic services in the theatre but also extends care to patients suffering with chronic pain, critical care services in the ICU and non – operating room services to endoscopic suites and patients requiring imaging (CT, MRI).

Surgery and critical illness are events that are taxing and disturbing to the patients and the entire family. Anesthesiologist is a perioperative physician and is pivotal in providing a safe surgical environment. Anesthesiologists constantly strive to make sure that the patients get the best of care during the surgical procedures and managing patients during the critical illness.

  • Encourage and empower the faculty to imbibe a culture of research in basic and applied Physiology and promote interdisciplinary research by encouraging collaboration between the various health profession disciplines
  • Undergraduate Courses
    • Medical: MBBS
    • BSc. Anaesthesia and Operation theatre Technology
  • Postgraduate Courses
    • MD (Anaesthesiology)
Thrust Areas
  • Evaluating various additives used for Regional blocks
  • Pain and palliative care
Awards And Achivements


1 of 9